Kansas DMV Change of Address

Moving somewhere in Kansas? Before you cruise around the new neighborhood, add updating the Kansas DMV change of address form to your moving to-do list. In some states, you have less than 30 days to update your driving records and/or vehicle registration with the Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV), so now’s the time to act!

But don’t worry — we’ve got your back. We’ve compiled everything you need to know about updating your driving records with your new residential or mailing address. You’ll be able to head out with the car keys from the day you officially call Kansas home.

Where are you moving?

KANSAS DRIVER’S LICENSE CHANGE OF ADDRESS

Do I need to notify the state of Kansas?

Yes.

Will filling out an official U.S. Postal Service Change of Address Form update my driver’s license records?

No.

Will the state of Kansas issue me a new driver’s license or ID card?

No.

Where can I complete my driver’s license change of address?

You can complete your Kansas DMV change of address online.

What will I need when I notify the DMV?

When do I need to complete my driver’s license change of address?

Act fast! You should complete your change of address within 10 days of your move.

KANSAS VEHICLE REGISTRATION CHANGE OF ADDRESS INFORMATION

Do I need to notify the state of Kansas?

Yes.

Will filling out an official U.S. Postal Service Change of Address Form update my vehicle registration records?

No.

Where can I complete my vehicle registration change of address?

You can complete your Kansas DMV change of address in person at your local county treasurer’s motor vehicle office. Unfortunately, services are not available online.

What will I need when I notify the DMV?

When do I need to complete my vehicle registration change of address?

Don’t sit on it — you’ll need to report your change of address within 10 days of your move.

KANSAS DRIVER’S LICENSE CHANGE OF ADDRESS

Do I need to get a new driver’s license?

Yes.

Where can I get a new driver’s license?

You can get a new driver’s license at your local Kansas Driver’s License Station. Unfortunately, services are not available online.

What will I need?

When do I need to complete my driver’s license change of address?

You’ll have 90 days after establishing residency.

Do I need to take a driving test?

Nope! But you will be required to pass a vision test.

Is there a fee?

Ah, the age-old question. Costs vary. Visit the fees page for more information.

KANSAS VEHICLE REGISTRATION CHANGE OF ADDRESS INFORMATION

Do I need to register my vehicle?

Yes.

Where can I register my vehicle?

You’ll need to schedule a vehicle examination, you can find a location through the Kansas Highway Patrol site. Once you have gotten your vehicle examined, you can go to your local county treasurer’s office to obtain your registration.

What will I need?

When do I need to register my vehicle?

You need to register your vehicle within 90 days of becoming a Kansas resident.

Is there a fee?

We don’t fault you for asking. Costs vary. Visit the fees page for more information.

KANSAS DRIVER’S LICENSE CHANGE OF ADDRESS

Do I need to notify the state of Kansas?

No. When you receive a license from the state you’re moving to, Kansas will automatically cancel your driver’s license.

KANSAS VEHICLE REGISTRATION CHANGE OF ADDRESS INFORMATION

Do I need to notify the state of Kansas?

No.

Will filling out an official U.S. Postal Service Change of Address Form update my vehicle registration records?

No.

Do I need to return my license plates?

Nope. Go ahead and save them for the grandkids.

Tree Illustration
Contact Information
Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles
785-296-3963
Car Illustration