Maine DMV Change of Address

Moving somewhere in Maine? Before you cruise around the new neighborhood, add updating the Maine DMV change of address form to your moving to-do list. In some states, you have less than 30 days to update your driving records and/or vehicle registration with the Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV), so now’s the time to act!

But don’t worry — we’ve got your back. We’ve compiled everything you need to know about updating your driving records with your new residential or mailing address. You’ll be able to head out with the car keys from the day you officially call Maine home.

Where are you moving?

MAINE DRIVER’S LICENSE CHANGE OF ADDRESS

Do I need to notify the state of Maine?

Yes.

Will filling out an official U.S. Postal Service Change of Address Form update my driver’s license records?

No.

Will the state of Maine issue me a new driver’s license or ID card?

No.

Where can I complete my driver’s license change of address?

You can report your change of address in person at the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles. You can also report your change of address by phone: 1-207-624-9000.

What will I need when I notify the DMV?

When do I need to complete my driver’s license change of address?

Act fast — you’ll need to report your Maine DMV change of address within 10 days of your move.

MAINE VEHICLE REGISTRATION CHANGE OF ADDRESS INFORMATION

Do I need to notify the state of Maine?

Yes.

Will filling out an official U.S. Postal Service Change of Address Form update my vehicle registration records?

No.

Where can I complete my vehicle registration change of address?

You can report your change of address in person at the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles. You can also report your change of address by phone: 207-624-9000.

What will I need when I notify the DMV?

When do I need to complete my vehicle registration change of address?

Don’t sit on it — you’ll need to report your Maine DMV change of address within 10 days of your move.

MAINE DRIVER’S LICENSE CHANGE OF ADDRESS

Do I need to get a new driver’s license?

Yes.

Where can I get a new driver’s license?

We hate to say it, but you’ll need to visit the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles. Unfortunately, services are not available online.

What will I need?

When do I need to get a new driver’s license?

Act fast — you’ll need to obtain a Maine driver’s license within 30 days of becoming a resident.

Do I need to take a driving test?

Nope. Save your real driving skills for the road. You will, however, have to pass a vision exam.

Is there a fee?

Ah, the age-old question. Costs vary. Visit the fees page for more information.

MAINE VEHICLE REGISTRATION CHANGE OF ADDRESS INFORMATION

Do I need to register my vehicle?

Yes.

Where can I register my vehicle?

You’ll need to visit the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles in person. Sorry to say, but services are not available online.

What will I need?

When do I need to register my vehicle?

Don’t sit on it — you’ll need to register your vehicle within 30 days of becoming a resident.

Is there a fee?

We don’t fault you for asking. Visit the fees page for more information.

Is an emission test required?

No, you are not required to get an emission test, unless you live in Cumberland County. Visit Maine’s Vehicle Inspection and Maintenance website for more information.

MAINE DRIVER’S LICENSE CHANGE OF ADDRESS

Do I need to notify the state of Maine?

No. When you receive a license from your new state, Maine will automatically cancel your driver’s license.

MAINE VEHICLE REGISTRATION CHANGE OF ADDRESS INFORMATION

Do I need to notify the state of Maine?

No.

Will filling out an official U.S. Postal Service Change of Address Form update my vehicle registration records?

No.

Do I need to return my license plates?

Yes.

Where can I return my license plates?

You can return your license plates in person at the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles.

When do I need to return my license plates?

You’ll need to return your license plates as soon as you register your vehicle in your new state.

Tree Illustration
Contact Information
Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles
1-207-624-9000
Car Illustration