North Carolina DMV Change of Address

Moving somewhere in North Carolina? Before you cruise around the new neighborhood, add updating the North Carolina DMV change of address form to your moving to-do list. In some states, you have less than 30 days to update your driving records and/or vehicle registration with the Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV), so now’s the time to act!

But don’t worry — we’ve got your back. We’ve compiled everything you need to know about updating your driving records with your new residential or mailing address. You’ll be able to head out with the car keys from the day you officially call North Carolina home.

Where are you moving?

NORTH CAROLINA DRIVER’S LICENSE CHANGE OF ADDRESS

Do I need to notify the state of North Carolina?

Yes.

Will filling out an official U.S. Postal Service Change of Address Form update my driver’s license records?

No.

Will the state of North Carolina issue me a new driver’s license or ID card?

Yes.

Where can I complete my driver’s license change of address?

You’re in luck! You can easily complete your North Carolina DMV change of address online through the state’s Change of Address System. You can also call the DMV assistance line, 919-615-6170. Your change of address can be completed in person at a North Carolina DMV license office.

What will I need when I notify the DMV?

When do I need to complete my driver’s license change of address?

Act fast — you’ll need to report your change of address within 60 days of your move.

NORTH CAROLINA VEHICLE REGISTRATION CHANGE OF ADDRESS INFORMATION

Do I need to notify the state of North Carolina?

Yes.

Will filling out an official U.S. Postal Service Change of Address Form update my vehicle registration records?

No.

Where can I complete my vehicle registration change of address?

You’re in luck! You can easily complete the North Carolina DMV change of address on your vehicle registration on the NCDOT website. You can also visit a North Carolina local license plate agency in person or send an Application of Duplicate Registration Certificate and fees to:

N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles

Renewal, Title & Plate Unit

3148 Mail Service Center

Raleigh, NC 27697-3148

What will I need when I notify the DMV?

When do I need to complete my vehicle registration change of address?

Don’t sit on it for too long — you’ll need to report your change of address within 30 days of your move.

NORTH CAROLINA DRIVER’S LICENSE CHANGE OF ADDRESS

Do I need to get a new driver’s license?

Yes.

Where can I get a new driver’s license?

We hate to say it, but you’ll need to visit the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles in person. Unfortunately, services are not available online.

What will I need?

When do I need to get a new driver’s license?

Act fast — you’ll need to visit the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicle office within 60 days of your move.

Do I need to take a driving test?

Nope. Save your real driving skills for the road. You will, however, have to pass a written and road test if your out-of-state license has been expired for more than two years.

Is there a fee?

Ah, the age-old question. Costs vary. Visit the fees page for more information.

NORTH CAROLINA VEHICLE REGISTRATION CHANGE OF ADDRESS INFORMATION

Do I need to register my vehicle?

Yes.

Where can I register my vehicle?

You’ll need to visit the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles in person. Sorry to say, but services are not available online.

What will I need?

When do I need to register my vehicle?

Don’t sit on it — you’ll need to register your vehicle within 30 days of becoming a resident, or when gainful employment is accepted, whichever occurs first.

Is there a fee?

We don’t fault you for asking. Visit the fees page for more information.

Is an emission test required?

No.

Is proof of liability insurance required?

Yes. Visit North Carolina’s Insurance Requirements page to learn more.

NORTH CAROLINA DRIVER’S LICENSE CHANGE OF ADDRESS

Do I need to notify the state of North Carolina?

No. When you receive a license from your new state, North Carolina will automatically cancel your driver’s license. Let’s just say they did the hard work for you.

NORTH CAROLINA VEHICLE REGISTRATION CHANGE OF ADDRESS INFORMATION

Do I need to notify the state of North Carolina?

Yes.

Will filling out an official U.S. Postal Service Change of Address Form update my vehicle registration records?

No.

Where can I complete my vehicle registration change of address?

Alas, services are not available online. You can mail your license plates and registration to:

North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles

3148 Mail Service Center

Raleigh, NC 27600-3148

What will I need?

Do I need to return my license plates?

Yes. Unfortunately, you won’t be able to save them for the grandkids.

When do I need to do it?

You’ll need to report your change of address within 60 days of your move. Head over to the Moving Outside North Carolina page for more info.

Tree Illustration
Contact Information
North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles
1-919-715-700
Car Illustration