Texas DMV Change of Address

Moving somewhere in Texas? Before you cruise around the new neighborhood, add updating the Texas DMV change of address form to your moving to-do list. In some states, you have less than 30 days to update your driving records and/or vehicle registration with the Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV), so now’s the time to act!

But don’t worry — we’ve got your back. We’ve compiled everything you need to know about updating your driving records with your new residential or mailing address. You’ll be able to head out with the car keys from the day you officially call Texas home.

Where are you moving?

TEXAS DRIVER’S LICENSE CHANGE OF ADDRESS

Do I need to notify the state of Texas?

Yes.

Will filling out an official U.S. Postal Service Change of Address Form update my driver’s license records?

No.

Will the state of Texas issue me a new driver’s license or ID card?

Yes.

Where can I complete my driver’s license change of address?

You’re in luck! You can easily complete your Texas DMV change of address online through the state’s Change of Address System. You can also complete your change of address in person at the Texas Department of Public Safety.

What will I need when I notify the DMV?

When do I need to complete my driver’s license change of address?

Act fast — you’ll need to report your change of address within 30 days of your move.

TEXAS VEHICLE REGISTRATION CHANGE OF ADDRESS INFORMATION

Do I need to notify the state of Texas?

Yes.

Will filling out an official U.S. Postal Service Change of Address Form update my vehicle registration records?

No.

Where can I complete my vehicle registration change of address?

You’ll be happy about this one: You can easily complete your Texas DMV change of address online through Texas’ Change of Address System.

What will I need when I notify the DMV?

When do I need to complete my vehicle registration change of address?

Don’t sit on it for too long — you’ll need to report your change of address 90 days before the date your registration expires.

TEXAS DRIVER’S LICENSE CHANGE OF ADDRESS

Do I need to get a new driver’s license?

Yes.

Where can I get a new driver’s license?

We hate to say it, but you’ll need to visit the Texas Department of Public Safety in person. Services are not available online.

What will I need?

When do I need to get a new driver’s license?

Act fast — you’ll need to visit the Texas Department of Motor Vehicle office within 90 days of your move.

Do I need to take a driving test?

Nope. Save your real driving skills for the road. You will, however, have to pass a vision exam.

Is there a fee?

Ah, the age-old question. If you are under the age of 18, there is a $16.00 driver’s license fee. For anyone ages 18 and up, there is a $25.00 driver’s license fee.

TEXAS VEHICLE REGISTRATION CHANGE OF ADDRESS INFORMATION

Do I need to register my vehicle?

Yes.

Where can I register my vehicle?

You’ll need to visit the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles in person. Sorry to say, but services are not available online.

What will I need?

When do I need to register my vehicle?

Don’t sit on it — you’ll need to register your vehicle within 30 days of your move.

Is there a fee?

We don’t fault you for asking. There is a standard $52.75 fee plus varying additional fees for individual counties.

Is an emission test required?

No.

Is proof of liability insurance required?

Yes. Visit Texas’ Insurance Requirements page to learn more.

TEXAS DRIVER’S LICENSE CHANGE OF ADDRESS

Do I need to notify the state of Texas?

No. When you receive a license from your new state, Texas will automatically cancel your driver’s license. Let’s just say they did the hard work for you.

TEXAS VEHICLE REGISTRATION CHANGE OF ADDRESS INFORMATION

Do I need to notify the state of Texas?

No.

Do I need to return my license plates?

No. Go ahead and save them for the grandkids.

Tree Illustration
Contact Information
Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
1-888-368-4689
Car Illustration