Colorado DMV Change of Address

Moving somewhere in Colorado? Before you cruise around your new neighborhood, add updating the Colorado DMV change of address form to your moving to-do list. In some states, you have less than 30 days to update your driving records and/or vehicle registration with the Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV), so now’s the time to act!

But don’t worry — we’ve got your back. We’ve compiled everything you need to know about updating your driving records with your new residential or mailing address. You’ll be able to head out with the car keys from the day you officially call Colorado home.

Where are you moving?

COLORADO DRIVER’S LICENSE CHANGE OF ADDRESS

Do I need to notify the State of Colorado?

Yes.

Will filling out an official U.S. Postal Service Change of Address Form update my driver’s license records?

No.

Will the State of Colorado issue me a new driver’s license or ID card?

No.

Where can I complete my driver’s license change of address?

You’re in luck! You can easily complete your Colorado DMV change of address online through the state’s Change of Address System. Or, you can complete your change of address in person at the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles.

A fan of snail mail? You can also complete change of address form and mail it here:

Colorado Department of Revenue

Division of Motor Vehicle

P.O. Box 173350

Denver, CO 80217-3350

What will I need when I notify the DMV?

When do I need to complete my driver’s license change of address?

Act fast — you’ll need to report your change of address within 30 days of your move.

COLORADO VEHICLE REGISTRATION CHANGE OF ADDRESS INFORMATION

Do I need to notify the State of Colorado?

Yes.

Will filling out an official U.S. Postal Service Change of Address Form update my vehicle registration records?

No.

Where can I complete my vehicle registration change of address?

Good news, you can now register a Colorado DMV change of address for your vehicle by using Colorado DMV online services and it only takes around 5 minutes to complete.

What will I need when I notify the DMV?

When do I need to complete my vehicle registration change of address?

Don’t sit on it — you’ll need to report your change of address within 30 days of your move.

COLORADO’S LICENSE CHANGE OF ADDRESS

Do I need to get a new driver’s license?

Yes.

Where can I get a new driver’s license?

We hate to say it, but you’ll need to visit the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles in person. You can prepare online, but you must go to a Driver’s License Office to complete the process.

What will I need?

When do I need to get a new driver’s license?

Act fast — you’ll need to visit the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicle office within 30 days of your move.

Do I need to take a driving test?

Nope, no testing is required if you hold a valid driver’s license from any U.S. state, Canada, France, Germany, the Republic of South Korea, or Taiwan. Save your real driving skills for the road. You will, however, have to pass a vision exam.

Is there a fee?

Ah, the age-old question. Colorado charges a fee to purchase a new license.

COLORADO VEHICLE REGISTRATION CHANGE OF ADDRESS INFORMATION

Do I need to register my vehicle?

Yes.

Where can I register my vehicle?

You’ll need to visit the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles in person. Sorry to say, but services are not available online. You will need to change your out-of-state title to a Colorado title before you register your vehicle. Visit the New to Colorado page and scroll down to the Vehicle Title and Fast Facts section.

What will I need?

When do I need to register my vehicle?

Don’t sit on it — you’ll need to register your vehicle within 90 days of your move.

Is there a fee?

We don’t fault you for asking. Fees are determined by empty weight and type of vehicle, additional fees may be collected depending on the County of registration and type of license plate selected. Visit the fees page for more information.

Is an emission test required?

Yes. Visit Colorado’s Emission Information page for more information.

Is proof of liability insurance required?

Yes. Visit Colorado’s Registration Requirements page to learn more.

COLORADO DRIVER’S LICENSE CHANGE OF ADDRESS

Do I need to notify the State of Colorado?

No. When you receive a license from your new state, Colorado will automatically cancel your driver’s license.

COLORADO VEHICLE REGISTRATION CHANGE OF ADDRESS INFORMATION

Do I need to notify the State of Colorado?

No.

Do I need to return my license plates?

No. Go ahead and save them for the grandkids.

Tree Illustration

Contact Information

Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles

1-303-205-5613

Car Illustration